News, Politics, and Culture from 14843

Sunset Along the Canisteo River by Janie L. Ferguson.

Steuben County will welcome three new legislators

Author: Share:

Joe Tobia, Shannon Logsdon, and William Thew to be sworn-in

From Steuben County NY

BATH – Three new county legislators will be sworn in for four-year terms Tuesday January 2 at the Steuben County Legislature’s Organizational Meeting. The meeting is set to begin at 10am.

Legislators-elect Joe Tobia, Corning City; Shannon Logsdon, Wayland/Cohocton; and William Thew Avoca/Fremont/Howard/Wheeler will take their oaths of office before joining 14 legislators on the county board. The three were elected to office during the Nov. 7 General Election.

The action marks the official opening of the county Legislature in 2024, which includes election of the Legislature’s Chair and Vice-Chair for two-year terms and caucuses to determine majority and minority leaders. The three new legislators will be appointed to standing committees, which oversee county departments, and review specific matters before they are forwarded to the full Legislature. By law, membership on the committees is appointed by the Legislature’s Chair within 30 days of his or her election

Previous Article

  In the Outdoors: Our foxes, Red and Gray

Next Article

Beyond Fitness: The YMCA’s Journey of Community Connection and Well-Being

You may also like