News, Politics, and Culture from 14843

NY DEMS call for January 6th Committee to investigate Congressman, and candidate for NY Governor Lee Zeldin

Author: Share:

Steuben County Democrat Shawn Hogan and Max Della Pia, Candidate for the NY 23rd Congressional District, co-sign letter to the Select Committee

NEW YORK, NY – Today, Chairman of the New York State Democratic Party, Jay S. Jacobs, and all Democratic County Chairs urged the House Select Committee investigating the attack on the U.S. Capitol to investigate U.S. Congressmen Lee Zeldin’s support for overturning the 2020 presidential election and his longtime connections with extremist groups involved in the January 6 insurrection. 

“Accordingly, we write today to urge the Select Committee to investigate and gather information on New York Congressman Lee Zeldin (NY-01), who not only strongly supported President Trump and his efforts to overturn the 2020 election results but also has years-long connections to extremist groups like the Oath Keepers, who played an essential role in the insurrection,” the members wrote to the House Select Committee. “As Lee Zeldin runs for higher office in the State of New York, we believe the state and the nation must be aware of any possible involvement in the insurrection on the United States Capitol.”

The letter points to Lee Zeldin’s involvement with known extremist groups, including the Oath Keepers and Long Island Loud Majority, his close ties to former President Donald Trump, and his objection to the certification of the 2020 presidential election — a vote he cast and defended on the House floor even after the attack on the U.S. Capitol.   

The full signatory list includes Chairman Jay S. Jacobs, Mark Alquist, Cynthia Appleton, Jamaal Bailey, Margaret Bartley, Suzanne Berger, Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn, Terry Bieniek, Lynne Boecher, Chris Borgatti, Valerie Brechko, Brett Broge, Lou Burke, Dia Carabajal, Jake Crawford, Michael Cusick, Corey DeCillis, Max. H. Della Pia, Martha Devaney, Barbara Fiala, Kathy M. Fleury, Mitchell G. Ford, Arlene Garbett Feldmeier, Patricia Giltner, John Gromada, Anne Hart, Kathleen Hayek, Theresa Heary, Sam Hodge, Linda Hoffmann, Shawn D. Hogan, Judith Hunter, Pamela Hunter, John Hurley, Zach King, Michael Lausell, Dora Leland, Jeff Lewis, Brandi B. Lloyd, Mike McCormick, Kelleigh McKenzie, Gregory Meeks, Michael Monescalchi, Liz Moran, Edward M. Murphy, Caitlin Ogden, Elizabeth Passer, Timothy Perfetti, Michael Plitt, Frank Puglisi, Kei Reing, Wilfred Rosas, Frank Salamone, Richard H. Schaffer, Julie Shiroishi, Alan Stern, Richard H. Stewart, Lori Torgersen, David Wood, Robin Wentworth, Keith Wright, Mike Zagrobelny, and Jeremy Zellner. 

Full text of the letter can be found here  

Previous Article

Steamers Down Destroyers

Next Article

O’Mara and NYS Republicans call for sales tax moratorium to fight inflation

You may also like