News, Politics, and Culture from 14843

Dansville Airport Juxaposition by Amanda Sue Cornelius

Alfred State honors Constantine and celebrates years of service milestones

Author: Share:

Dr. Aniko Constantine was honored for fifty years of service to Alfred State. Dr. Steven Mauro presents her with a wall clock to commemorate the milestone.

GALLERY of honored faculty and staff

From Alfred State College,

The recognition of fifty years of service by SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Aniko Constantine highlighted a recent Alfred State College (ASC) celebration. Faculty and staff gathered at the annual employee recognition luncheon to honor Constantine and others who are marking milestones in their service.

Alfred State President Dr. Steven Mauro introduced a video tribute to Constantine that included comments from former President Dr. John Anderson, colleagues, and former students. After a standing ovation, Mauro added his own praise before presenting her with an Alfred State wall clock and a coat to commemorate the milestone.

“Students today and alumni all over the country have stories to tell about how Annie made a huge impact by helping them in their classes so they could achieve more,” said Mauro. “Over 50 years of service, her dedication and skills are examples for other professors to follow. All of us benefit from her caring spirit. She truly cares for the emotional health, academic achievement, and wellbeing of each Pioneer who has been lucky enough to be in her class.”

Constantine has taught in the English and Humanities Department since 1974 teaching a variety of classes including introduction to composition, introduction to literature, short story, gender and identity in literature, and images of women in fiction. She is also the advisor to Ergo, the campus literary magazine and proudly serves as the grand marshal at all academic ceremonies.

Alfred State’s thirty-five years of service award went to Deborah Claire.

Thirty years of service: Cheryl Downey, Robin Harrington, Marie Hegarty, Jim Masterson, Mary Monroe, Francine Staba, and Robert Wise.

Twenty-five years of service: Chad Bixby, Brent Cobin, Timothy Cochran, Andrew Dwyer, Michelle Francisco, Cynthia Testani, Debra Tomm, and Jason White.

Twenty years of service: Karla Back, James Buell, Keelan Croston, Mark D’Arcy, Eugene Doorley, Tammy Edwards, John Kaffitz, David Kendall, Allen Raish, and Stephen Richard.

Ten years of service: Alex Bitterman, William Brown, Erica Brundage, Douglas Butters, Virginia Chamberlain, Justin Cornelius, Charles Cutler, Timothy Dickerson, Jennifer Enke, Lenny France, Carol Gemmell, Laura George, George Grossman, Gerald Ianovici, Jeremy Joseph, Sean Kelley, Raymond Mullen, Charles Music, Anna Pensyl-Shutt, Kristin Poppo, Timothy Rohrer, Skip Sullivan, Kevin Tucker, Mark Whitman, and Daniel Woolston.

All honorees received a commemorative certificate and a gift to recognize their years of service to Alfred State.

Previous Article

Dr. Tom: Beyond Complex Passwords

Next Article

FEDS: Former Erie County teacher pleads guilty to child abuse and exploitation

You may also like