News, Politics, and Culture from 14843

Summerscape on Loon Lake By Tim McCarthy

Steuben County will induct four into Hall of Fame on July 22

Author: Share:

Alsheimer, Brink, Marshall, and Walker to be honored

From Steuben County,

BATH – Four notable Steuben County residents have been nominated for entry into the county Hall of Fame following the formal approval of the county Legislature July 22.

Charles J. Alsheimer, Helen K. Brink, Maj. Gen. Otto Marshall, and Dr. James E. Walker were selected by the county Hall Of Fame Committee for their impact on Steuben County and abroad. They were recently approved by the county Legislature’s Agriculture, Industry, and Planning Committee.

* Charles Alsheimer, of Avoca, was a prolific and acclaimed author and nature photographer who was featured in hundreds of national magazines.
* Helen Brink, of Bath, is a history scholar who researched and brought awareness to all the cemeteries in Steuben County preserving centuries of County history.
* Otto Marshall, born in Prussia, founded Wheeler, and was a leader in the establishment of the Steuben County Agricultural Society and the Steuben County Fair.
* James E Walker, Hornell,  was a world famous medical practitioner who cured patients with Tuberculosis and used radical medical procedures he learned while traveling around the world.

The nominees are expected to join more than 160 people inducted into the county Hall of Fame since 1976, including former US Congressman Amo Houghton, R-Corning, aviator Glenn Curtiss of Hammondsport and civil rights advocate Georgia Verdier of Corning.

“These four inductees deserve to be in the Steuben County Hall of Fame for their service to the community and abroad,” said county Historian Griffin Bates. “All four left an indelible mark on Steuben County history and they are a shining example for future generations.”

A reception for the new inductees will be held in the county Legislature Chambers following the formal approval of the county Legislature. The Chambers are located on the third floor of the county Annex, 20 E. Morris St.

The public is encouraged to attend.

Previous Article

NYS Police: Images of tornado damage in North Chautauqua/South Erie County

Next Article

City of Hornell Police Department Awarded Over $188,000 in NYS Grant

You may also like